Home > national, Regional > Possible Meteor Spotted over East Coast (Updated)

Possible Meteor Spotted over East Coast (Updated)

February 14, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

By Tom Sofield
Online Editor – (tsofield@buxmontnews.com)

2/15/11 1:47 p.m.: Thank you everyone for the e-mails, comments and phone calls!

The Philadelphia Inquirer has the full story.

The American Meteor Society has a form set up for those people who want to file reports of spotting the meteor.

More reader comments:

One man left us a phone message telling us he was in Long Island, NY when he saw the meteor cross the sky yesterday. He was very happy to hear he was not the only one to see it.

Sharon Bath writes:

My husband saw this HUGE, Amazing “fireball” while working on the NJ Turnpike yesterday afternoon. He said he looked up and saw “something on fire, shootingb through the sky, before it left a trail of smoke behind and fizzled out”. He thought it was a plane crashing at first. No one else on the entire job saw this and they thought he was seeing things. I googled this fireball for him lastnight and low and behold, found this article!

One person e-mailed us this report:

I was on rt. 4 in Englewood, NJ  around 12:30 yesterday Feb. 14th when I saw this gold/green shining thing with a long white tail. I was completely taken by it. I am so glad to see I was not the only one to see it. It was very cool.

Spencer Reinhard commented:

guess what I saw yesterday. I went outside after lunch early because it was nice out. I went and sat in front of education and waited for our boss to show up. I was reading when my mexican buddy showed up. we sat and talked for a while, but around 12 20 or so, I was looking to his right while he talked and over the gym, I saw this bright yellow light pass from above the gym down behind it. it was a split second ” I just saw something” I said, it looked like a falling star. “a meteorite” he said and I said yeah but it was so fast that I wasnt really sure I had seen anything, maybe it was just the sun hitting the back of a seagull I thought, and with that doubt I all but forgot about it. it wasnt untill later in the day when this dude scott came in the room “people are seeing fireballs falling out of the sky” then I remembered ” I saw that!” I said and explained to them what i had seen, and of course my bunky said I was crazy, but I pointed to the direction that i saw it in, and scott said that yes it was seen in the north east. today he tells me it was brighter than the sun, and softball size, but they havent found it yet, but they think it landed somewhere on long island. I would have forgotten all about it. It was a valentines day meteorite. Im sure it was between 12 and 12 30

A reader left a comment that stated:

My daughter saw a object falling from sky at 12- something pm from Pine Hill NJ as she was picking the kids up from school! Also another 2 people were talking about this while I was in the store as they both saw the same thing. One women said her husband thinks she fell off her rocker because she was frantic when she saw it falling! Both of the other witness’s are from the Clementon, Pine Hill, Berlin area.

Charlie said:

I saw this event from Millersville Maryland. It occurred at 12:34pm by my clock. I glanced out my car window looking to the east and saw the fireball as it approached the earth. I lost sight of it as it fell below the tree line. My sense was that it was a lot closer to me than now reported (hundreds of yards to a few miles). As it turns out, as we now know, it was out over the Atlantic Ocean off of the east coast. I’ve seen nothing on the news about this. It was very cool that I was able to witness this.

Christine told us:

My 9 year old daughter and I both saw it in Hampton, Virginia. We were driving NE on Mercury Blvd and saw a bright object falling. I called my local news station twice to see if they had any idea what it was or if anyone else reported it…

Kate Freedman commented on our site:

I saw it when driving from Philadelphia towards Camden, I didn’t believe my eyes at first.

Janet e-mailed us this report:

I saw what looked like a small flare falling from the sky at 12:40 pm.  I was traveling east on route 22 in Bridgewater, NJ

Read more submitted comments.

2/14/11 5:28 p.m.: Robert Lunsford from the American Meteor Society said this:

So far we have 30 reports of a fireball moving in a general west to east direction as seen from the northeastern USA. Daylight fireballs are rare and must be exceedingly bright to be noticed with the sun in the sky. This was most likely a random event not associated with any known meteor shower. This object was most likely the size of a small car before striking the upper atmosphere. With it terminating over the Atlantic Ocean, there is no hope for recovering any possible debris.

Terry called to tell us:

She was on her way back from lunch in Little Egg Harbor, NJ when she say the fireball. She said she was “glad others saw it too.”

Rodney comments:

I saw it too in Ocean County NJ. Was falling downward with a definite Green tail and flash at the end

It was over the water as well for me. I didn’t see the object just the long green tail after it and a flash at the end.

Steve Goldman in NJ e-mail us this:

I saw the fire ball falling from the sky around 12:30ish.  I was facing south and I was in Bergen County, NJ.   Quite a site to behold.

Another commenter says:

Saw it driving East on Rt. 10 near Parsippany, NJ

2/14/11 3:29 p.m.: Tim Connor commented on our post with this report:

I saw it while I was in Camden, NJ. It was East (towards Flying W Airport) and was a metallic silver colored object with a tail traveling vertically at a high rate. It definitely wasn’t over Philadelphia, just to clear that up.

On our Facebook page Lisa Rundles Crandall posted a report of what her husband told her he saw:

“a huge ball of fire” which he thought was a comet… he was driving on the PA turnpike, and said it had to have come down close, as in eastern PA or the Jersey border at the furthest… he said he had “never seen anything like it…”

Mike Hankey of Mike’sAstroPhotos.com posted a map of where the object was sighted from. Hankey made the map based on the 20 or so reports that were filed with the American Meteor Society within an hour of the object streaking across the sky.

(MikesAstroPhotos.com)

2/14/11 2:14 p.m.: Many Twitter users up and down the east coast, Egypt along with FOX 29 out of Philadelphia are reporting that a bright light was spotted in the sky around 12:45 this afternoon.

Twitter users across the globe are posting reports of the sighting:

(No Location Given) @REL ONE: I think I just say a #meteorite or something else falling from the sky.

(New Jersey) @philmdunn: We got a call that someone saw a meteor? Anyone else catch a glimpse?

(Egypt) @carlosnilefm: it’s 7 PM & the sky got brighter & brighter till it’s like broad daylight ,I look & i saw the Biggest Brightest meteor i’ve seen in my life

(New York) @HLDeVore: Wow… Just saw daytime meteor over New York!!!! Moving west to east…. Burned up. Or firework??? WTF was that???

(No Location Given) @tcnolan: Looks like a lot of people saw that #meteor over NYC at around 12:40 pm EST today… thought I was going crazy for a bit there…

(Connecticut) @eyetalic: I just saw a meteor flash through the sky a few minutes ago, in broad daylight!!

(Philadelphia) @gerardodm: Just saw the most amazing meteor/falling star ever on plain day light! It had green/orange light burning. Incredible! Happy Valentines!

If you spotted the object drop us a line via. phone – 267-281-4BMN (4266), e-mail, Facebook or Twitter.

This post will be updated when more information is available.

Categories: national, Regional Tags: ,
  1. Tim Connor
    February 14, 2011 at 3:03 PM

    I saw it while I was in Camden, NJ. It was East (towards Flying W Airport) and was a metallic silver colored object with a tail traveling vertically at a high rate. It definitely wasn’t over Philadelphia, just to clear that up.

  2. Rodney K
    February 14, 2011 at 3:44 PM

    I saw it too in Ocean County NJ. Was falling downward with a definite Green tail and flash at the end

  3. Rodney K
    February 14, 2011 at 3:51 PM

    It was over the water as well for me. I didn’t see the object just the long green tail after it and a flash at the end.

  4. Rodney K
    February 14, 2011 at 4:07 PM

    Waretown, NJ spotted here if you want to post to your map.

  5. dbrennan17@mac.com
    February 14, 2011 at 4:18 PM

    Saw it driving East on Rt. 10 near Parsippany, NJ

  6. Rob
    February 14, 2011 at 4:19 PM

    Reminds me of that Front Porch Country Band song “Hot Rock Came To The Country”

    • C.J.Martin
      February 14, 2011 at 4:57 PM

      I just looked for the song to listen to, and I found that they just re-released it.

  7. Mich Latham
    February 14, 2011 at 4:55 PM

    Yeah Rob – when was that song released? I remember that was like 10 years ago. Good song though…Cool meteor too!

  8. Mich Latham
    February 14, 2011 at 5:17 PM

  9. Jim
    February 14, 2011 at 5:43 PM

    Isn’t this how Cloverfield started?

  10. Kristen
    February 14, 2011 at 6:01 PM

    I saw it too! Was about 12:30 in the afternoon here in NJ. I have been reading online somthing about a comet called Comet tempel 1- there was an article called”Date with a comet” Valentines Day. Except it was talking about the spaceship stardust supposedly making contact with it tonight around 11pm. Maybe they lost its comet! Becuase I saw it falling out of the sky and a very fast pace with a very long tail! Was blueish purpleish and yellowy goldish! Yea, description vague, but I was driving. For being mid day it wass the brightest think I ever saw and freaked me out! Very cool though. Perhaps a comet? It was something!

  11. Kristen
    February 14, 2011 at 6:13 PM

    this was Eatontown NJ.

  12. Matt Huss
    February 14, 2011 at 6:20 PM

    I saw it from west berlin nj facing east northeast. It was verry bright with a blue green hue. Too bad it was over water, would have been nice to recover some!

  13. s
    February 14, 2011 at 6:25 PM

    Saw it driving East on route 322 toward I-95. Was very bright to be seen in daylight.

  14. Erika
    February 14, 2011 at 7:58 PM

    I was in Westtown NY when I saw the burning meteorite fall from the sky and disappear. It was about 12:45 pm. It was bright orange in color- like a fireball.

  15. Kate Freedman
    February 14, 2011 at 9:14 PM

    I saw it when driving from Philadelphia towards Camden, I didn’t believe my eyes at first.

  16. Christina
    February 14, 2011 at 10:11 PM

    I saw this when I was driving to work in Amherst, MA. Exact same direction everyone else has reported. It was bright! And my coworkers didn’t believe me!

  17. Jeannette
    February 15, 2011 at 6:11 AM

    I saw the meteor in Beach Haven, it was extremely bright, no denying what it was, ended with an explosion.

  18. Trixie
    February 15, 2011 at 8:03 AM

    I saw it in Lincroft, NJ I was heading east on Main Street at 12:45pm ..
    It was at 11 O’clock.. descending towards the ocean quite a sight…it had a very long tail.

  19. Cristie Escandon
    February 15, 2011 at 8:20 AM

    My 9 year old daughter and I both saw it in Hampton, Virginia. We were driving NE on Mercury Blvd and saw a bright object falling. I called my local news station twice to see if they had any idea what it was or if anyone else reported it…

  20. Dalia
    February 15, 2011 at 8:43 AM

    I saw it too! Looked like bright shooting star falling from sky. I saw it also around the same time, 12:40ish while facing east on Rt. 4 in teaneck, NJ

  21. khenders07@gmail.com
    February 15, 2011 at 8:59 AM

    I saw it too, in Toms River, New Jersey. I couldnt believe my eyes, it was erie, how clear and bright it was in the blue sky.

  22. Dalia
    February 15, 2011 at 8:59 AM

    You can submit an official report to the american meteor society at http://www.amsmeteors.org/fireball2/form2.php

  23. Charlie K
    February 15, 2011 at 10:34 AM

    I saw this event from Millersville Maryland. It occurred at 12:34pm by my clock. I glanced out my car window looking to the east and saw the fireball as it approached the earth. I lost sight of it as it fell below the tree line. My sense was that it was a lot closer to me than now reported (hundreds of yards to a few miles). As it turns out, as we now know, it was out over the Atlantic Ocean off of the east coast. I’ve seen nothing on the news about this. It was very cool that I was able to witness this.

    Charlie

  24. ucancalmebetty@yahoo.com
    February 15, 2011 at 10:52 AM

    My daughter saw a object falling from sky at 12- something pm from Pine Hill NJ as she was picking the kids up from school! Also another 2 people were talking about this while I was in the store as they both saw the same thing. One women said her husband thinks she fell off her rocker because she was frantic when she saw it falling! Both of the other witness’s are from the Clementon, Pine Hill, Berlin area.

  25. meglyn248@aol.com
    February 15, 2011 at 11:30 AM

    I saw around 12:30ish in Monmouth County, NJ

  26. Spencer Reinhard
    February 15, 2011 at 12:10 PM

    guess what I saw yesterday. I went outside after lunch early because it was nice out. I went and sat in front of education and waited for our boss to show up. I was reading when my mexican buddy showed up. we sat and talked for a while, but around 12 20 or so, I was looking to his right while he talked and over the gym, I saw this bright yellow light pass from above the gym down behind it. it was a split second ” I just saw something” I said, it looked like a falling star. “a meteorite” he said and I said yeah but it was so fast that I wasnt really sure I had seen anything, maybe it was just the sun hitting the back of a seagull I thought, and with that doubt I all but forgot about it. it wasnt untill later in the day when this dude scott came in the room “people are seeing fireballs falling out of the sky” then I remembered ” I saw that!” I said and explained to them what i had seen, and of course my bunky said I was crazy, but I pointed to the direction that i saw it in, and scott said that yes it was seen in the north east. today he tells me it was brighter than the sun, and softball size, but they havent found it yet, but they think it landed somewhere on long island. I would have forgotten all about it. It was a valentines day meteorite. Im sure it was between 12 and 12 30

    • Spencer
      February 15, 2011 at 12:17 PM

      Spencer Reinhard :
      guess what I saw yesterday. I went outside after lunch early because it was nice out. I went and sat in front of education and waited for our boss to show up. I was reading when my mexican buddy showed up. we sat and talked for a while, but around 12 20 or so, I was looking to his right while he talked and over the gym, I saw this bright yellow light pass from above the gym down behind it. it was a split second ” I just saw something” I said, it looked like a falling star. “a meteorite” he said and I said yeah but it was so fast that I wasnt really sure I had seen anything, maybe it was just the sun hitting the back of a seagull I thought, and with that doubt I all but forgot about it. it wasnt untill later in the day when this dude scott came in the room “people are seeing fireballs falling out of the sky” then I remembered ” I saw that!” I said and explained to them what i had seen, and of course my bunky said I was crazy, but I pointed to the direction that i saw it in, and scott said that yes it was seen in the north east. today he tells me it was brighter than the sun, and softball size, but they havent found it yet, but they think it landed somewhere on long island. I would have forgotten all about it. It was a valentines day meteorite. Im sure it was between 12 and 12 30

  27. sharonabath@aol.com
    February 15, 2011 at 1:19 PM

    My husband saw this HUGE, Amazing “fireball” while working on the NJ Turnpike yesterday afternoon. He said he looked up and saw “something on fire, shootingb through the sky, before it left a trail of smoke behind and fizzled out”. He thought it was a plane crashing at first. No one else on the entire job saw this and they thought he was seeing things. I googled this fireball for him lastnight and low and behold, found this article!

  28. Anonymous
    February 15, 2011 at 2:18 PM

    I SAW THE AMAZING METEOR TO. I WAS ON MY WAY HOME FRM GETTING VALITINES DAY GIFT, I WAS TRAVILLING SOUTH/EAST IN FORKED RIVER AND SPOTTED IT OVER ISLAND BEACH STATE PRK. IT WAS BIG, SAME THING, IT HAD A GREENISH BLUE TAIL, REALLY BRIGHT, AND FAST. IT LOOKED AS THOUGH IT WAS FALLING STRAIGHT DOWN…I WAS ACCTALLY WAITING FOR AN IMPACT..CRAZY.

  29. Brian
    February 15, 2011 at 3:20 PM

    I also was on route 4 east in teaneck and saw a white green tail with an orange explosion near to the ground off the highway comming down near vertical and exploding close to the ground. I posted what i saw onthe ams web page something big must have blew up over the north atlantic yesterday.

  30. Shelly
    February 15, 2011 at 3:27 PM

    Thanks for meteor updates. A friend of my husband, in Melville, L.I. saw meteor breaking up at lunchtime.

  31. Rich
    February 15, 2011 at 5:11 PM

    I read in the greenfield massachusetts police log on 2-15-2011 that several people called local and state police that they saw “something fall from the sky” north of greenfield. The log time was 1:10pm. This would put the “fireball” almost into southern vermont and new hampshire. Very interesting to say the least!!

  32. Gregg s.
    February 15, 2011 at 6:32 PM

    At about 12:35 coming back from lunch me and a coworker saw this meteor shoot straight down to the ground in carteret NJ I swear it landed maybe 200 yds. From our job site, not the ocean . Coolest thing ive ever seen in my life. Gregg

  33. Anonymous
    February 15, 2011 at 7:10 PM

    I saw it while driving east on east west Blvd from Veterans Hwy toward the jumpers hole roar circle, bright yellow streaming down Tuesday I think about 11:30am maybe rough idea could be different, have to check my receipts while in the “hood”

  34. Pat and Chuck Colvin
    February 15, 2011 at 7:58 PM

    February 14, 2011 between approx 1pm – 2 pm, we were driving home in East Goshen Township, West Chester, PA. We saw an unidentified object falling from above the tree level at a high rate of speed. It appeared to be a bulbous white light with some blue and a long red tail like on fire. It fell at a steep angle and fell very nearby beyond some trees. We thought it to be a mile away or closer and wondered if it was a falling star, or space debris or meteorite. We looked it up on Goggle this evening and saw all of the reports. Hard to tell the size, but it landed very near to where we were. We wondered if it hit anything or could start a fire. ??? Quite a site and we won’t forget it either.

    • Donna Fenza
      February 17, 2011 at 9:02 PM

      It did really seem to land between trees and this rancher..I really thought that I would start to see a house go up in flames….I live in Glen Mills, but I saw it in Aston while eating my lunch…..I enjoy reading everyone’s testimonies, because it was the neatest Valentines gift I could ever get or see…I’ll never forget that gleam. we are lucky!

  35. Russell Richards
    February 15, 2011 at 11:44 PM

    I seen a fire ball tonight 2/15/11 around 8:45-9:00 eastern time. It was falling out of the sky very slow. It was the craziest thing I have ever seen! It was so bright across the eastern sky! Will we see more of these?

  36. Deborah.desalvo@comcast.net
    February 16, 2011 at 9:38 AM

    Saw it in Montclair, NJ. facing east/southeast. a brilliant orange ball whooshing down towards the ground….

  37. Joyce McDonnell
    February 16, 2011 at 7:36 PM

    I was driving in Radnor, Pa on Monday Feb 14th at about 12:35 pm or so when I saw a beautiful, yellow fireball traveling west-to-east. It had a long tail and had a greenish hue. It was gone in an instant. I said “what the heck was that?!”. I turned on an all news radio channel and heard nothing all day. Thought maybe I was seeing things. I am so happy I found this site and read about other people’s sightings. That was one if the coolest things I have ever seen!

  38. Donna Fenza
    February 16, 2011 at 8:19 PM

    at 12:38 pm. on 2-14 I began to eat my sandwich…I was sitting in my car..I looked up and thought it was a sign from “heaven or from God” especially for me.
    It was a bright metallic gold like beam. It appeared to have landed very close to where I was…I thought it landed on a house or in the trees…I was hesitant to call 911 because i figured they might think i was a “nutball”…..i called anyway and obtained an operator number and filed the report of exactly what I saw….Aston Pa. (Baldwin Run) near Pres. Church……..Donna Fenza Aston, Pa

  39. sapna
    February 16, 2011 at 8:24 PM

    me and my friend saw a ball of fire like in the sky…as if it was a fire work…we wondered what it was …. it was very clear …we say it from rt 107 long island ny

  40. Kim
    February 16, 2011 at 11:08 PM

    I saw a fiery streak on the Rhode Island Coast, Narragansett Beach. it made my day. – very cool

  41. Brian W.
    February 16, 2011 at 11:59 PM

    I was driving East on Rt 10 in Hanover, NJ when I saw the fireball streak across the sky…the car in front of me hit his breaks obviously just as freaked out as I was by what we just saw. It looked so close that I thought it was within a mile or so of where I was. I actually called the police to ask if anyone had reported any strange light in the sky (I told them it was probably a meteor) and thought it was worth reporting just in case it was something else. Truly one of the most amazing things I have seen in my life…other than in the summer of 2004 when I saw 3 shooting stars streak across the sky at the same time (and all next to each other) somewhere over Pa…amazing because it occurred during a performance by the Christian Band “The News Boys” at Creation Festival…the song was ‘He Reigns’…it must have been witnessed by hundreds that night…I personally think God was showing us that he truly does reign…

  42. February 17, 2011 at 9:54 PM

    Splashdown appeared to be approx 6 -9 miles east of Block Island and 5-9 miles out of Point Judith. I was down at the beach and as I looked to see if the ferry was comming I saw a silver/blue streak comming from ssw of Montauck Pt. long Island. It appeared to be droping fast from around angles 10 (10,000) feet, within 4 or 5 seconds it hit the water. No big mess or anything, was too far out to see clearly. I have fished area for 50+ years and I’d place it about 8 -10 miles from the island slightly north of due east.
    Qould have contacted earlier but didn’t think anyone was looking. Have seen 3 or 4 in 50 years. 1 hit water about 2 miles from me but deoth was 3300′ no way to get.

  43. Collin
    March 8, 2011 at 11:19 AM

    I Saw it too! It had to be between 12:30 and 1pm and I was traveling east on rt 37 towards the Seaside/Toms River Bridge and the fireball looked as if it fell over the ocean.

  1. February 15, 2011 at 3:13 AM
  2. March 6, 2011 at 6:17 AM

Leave a comment